Why Pray?


By: Malika Bennett

The question of the day is “why pray?” For some of us prayer is a part of our everyday lives so we instinctively know the answer to that question. But, the reality is that many people are curious about prayer. They want to know “why” they should pray. They want to know “why” they should go to God.

I think the short answer to that question is that we should pray because God cares for us and He asks us to pray to Him for guidance and counsel.  God loves us enough to give us the truth. So if you want to know the truth about your life issues or situation, you must go to God – and that is done through prayer.

The bible says…

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7 (NIV)

The bible also says…

“God is not human, that he should lie, not a human being, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill?”  Numbers 23:19 (NIV)

God is faithful. Not only does He care for us, but also He is truthful and the Lord speaks to us and acts on our behalf. The Lord has plans to prosper and bless our lives but in order to take advantage of the good things the Lord has in store – we must communicate with Him to get our blessings.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”  Jeremiah 29:11-13 (NIV)

The key to prayer is seeking Him with all of our hearts and knowing that He cares. God can do all things and wants to work on our behalf but He requires us to seek His face and to seek His counsel. He didn’t wake us up this morning to leave us lonely. He is there and He wants to hear from you and me.  The funny thing is while I was writing this post I remembered that MC Hammer had a popular song in the 90’s where he said “we got to pray just to make it today.”  That is so true. We have to pray in order to make it in this crazy world.

Now that you know the reasons why we all should pray, I wrote a prayer to help kick-start your prayer life. The prayer goes a little something like this….

“Heavenly Father, thank you for caring for me. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for listening to me and never leaving me lonely. Thank you for knowing my heart, my dreams and my intentions. Thank you for your plans to prosper me and bless my life. Thank you for your counsel and infinite wisdom and truth. Father God, I ask that you forgive me of my sins so I can be made new in your image and hear from your Holy spirit.  In Jesus’ name, Amen. “

That’s it! Simple, right? Say this prayer and use it as a starting point for developing your own prayer life and strengthening your individual relationship with God. Remember the reason you should pray is because “He cares for you…”

If you have a remarkable prayer story or testimony to share, I’d love to hear about it…please share it with us in the comments section.

Be blessed!

Microsoft Store

10 thoughts on “Why Pray?

  1. Have you completed your work? Thanks for the pingback! I visited your blog and enjoyed your “working for Christ” post – it had a word that I needed today. We are working for Christ. Good reminder!

    Like

  2. A prayer for abundance…thanks for the ping back to your prayer…I loved your prayer and said Amen. God is a wonder, isn’t he! He will answer your prayers and supply all that you need. All we have to do is ask and he is there….good luck with your new business. I pray it is a huge success and fills your heart with joy and great prosperity!

    Like

  3. Thank you Janis, yes God cares for us – all day, everyday, He’s always there for us! Thank you for your kind comments and I look forward to checking out your post in April. By the way, I adore the artwork on your blog. You are very talented.

    Like

Leave a Reply

