Confession: I Am Addicted to Gospel Music


Since I was a little girl, gospel music has been near and dear to my heart. Music is such a powerful medium. It can literally transform your life and move people from a place of darkness and depression to a place of gratitude and praise.

I remember being a little girl singing in my church’s youth choir. I realized my love for music and my love for the Lord back then. I remember them giving us a record (this was back in the 80’s when records and cassettes were in style) of the song “Yes Jesus Loves Me.”I sang this song like there was no tomorrow. I didn’t care if I was in-tune or out-of-tune, I just sang my heart out. Something took over my spirit. I now know this feeling – it is the Holy Spirit. The beauty of the song to me, was the message, ” Little ones to Him belong,They are weak but He is strong. Yes, Jesus loves me! Yes, Jesus loves me! Yes, Jesus loves me! The Bible tells me so.” To me, this song, was powerful. It gave me comfort knowing that my Father in heaven is protecting me and that He loves me unconditionally! Ever since then, gospel music mixed with a little soul has been my favorite.

Yes, I am addicted to gospel music. I confess. Does anyone else share this addiction?

One thought on “Confession: I Am Addicted to Gospel Music

Leave a Reply

