Poem: A Girl Named Denial


By: Malika Bennett

There is this girl I know

Her name is denial

Through her I have seen

Just how far I have come

Too busy concerned about what others think

Im tweeking or thinking

That girl use to be me

Seeing what others think as truth 

Instead of realizing their truth is a lie

But I’ve learned 

That every breath I give in offering her assistance

Is keeping my spirit tied because her fault she does not see

And playing victim viciously keeps her in bondage

I plead with her ‘girl set yourself free’

But she holds on to their truth and their truth becomes her self view 

Fighting like a ruthless pit bull 

To resist all that’s good and right

I prayed and asked God 

Please set denial free

Allow her to see the beauty 

Just like you did for me

Leave a Reply

