Just Do You


As I was doing my routine of clicking through YouTube videos [fun, right] and looking for throwback songs and just good music to listen to, I came across one of my favorite musical artists, India Arie. I listened to her classics like ‘Better People,’ “Video” and others but then came across a newer song I have never heard before. The song is titled ‘Just Do You…”

This song is basically a song about overcoming fears, tapping into your inner powers, taking a chance and learning to be comfortable in your own skin sans the burden of caring about what others think.

This song gave me life! She sung about all of the spiritual truths that have been shown to me in the last 3 years of my life. The spiritual truth being that this is our life. We only get ONE CHANCE to live this life, so it’s time to figure out WHAT makes us happy and go for it!

What makes you happy? What makes you rich in your heart? What gives you joy? What are your dreams? What is something you’ve always wanted to do but you never did it because of fear.  I am sure we can all think of one thing. The fears can pile up and weigh us down like a pile of bricks. You know it could be, fear of judgment, fear of failure, fear of rejection, fear of succeeding, fear of being you.

She ends the song with a powerful imagery of affirmations and with the lyric “if you just do you, there’s no way you can lose.”

Screen Shot 2015-04-26 at 12.55.24 AM

So what type of life do you want for yourself? What is your definition of ‘doing you…’ What are some beautiful truths that you can speak to you, about you?

Here are 25 beautiful affirmations of my own that I think are wonderful that provides a few examples.

I Am light
I Am truth
I Am rich
I Am prosperous
I Am beautiful
I Am a leader
I Am an inspiration
I Am a lover
I Am loved
I Am a home owner
I Am a best-selling author
I Am healthy
I Am brilliant
I Am a teacher
I Am magnificent
I Am healed
I Am courageous
I Am happy
I Am perfectly made
I Am creative
I Am determined
I Am patient
I Am unbound
I Am blessed
I Am doing me

I love writing these affirmations out because they free my mind and help me to refocus.

Now it’s your turn. That’s right, now I challenge you to write your own 25 affirmations and just do you. Please let me know how it goes and if you’d like to share, please comment below.

God Bless!!!

Leave a Reply

