Remembering Grandma…Today Was A Good Day


My grandmas on my mind….I had a dream last night that we were cooking together and she was showing me some stuff. Then Mahalia Jackson came on my playlist (her favorite artist) while I was on my way to work. The song that played was (if I could hear my mother pray again). It almost had me in tears. And then today while making tuna croquettes I laughed at work with some of our guests about good ol’ southern recipes because only a few of the guest knew what a croquette was…. We reminisced about watching our grandmas tear it up in the kitchen and make magic out of nothing. My “gma” is definitely alive and vibrant in spirit and memory and today I send her a special “I love u gma” shoutout! Ms. Willie Mae… Thoughts of you made my day. All in all today was a good day!

Leave a Reply

